(The Rest of) Movie Feels of 2012


So I haven’t finished even half of the list yet. I’ve moved on from these 2012 ‘feels’ since I’ve watched 6 movies for the first quarter of this year and I’m prepared to see more.  I’ll just very briefly describe what remains of it in a note-to-self way.

#6 Ice Age: Continental Drift

Ice Age: Continental Drift poster from Wikipedia

It was still funny and better than the previous Ice Age installment, but of course never as good the first. I’m not sure if this would have another sequel, and I’m not quite looking forward to one except maybe if they’d show more of Sid and Scrat.

#5 Rise of the Guardians

Rise of the Guardians poster from Wikipedia

There was magic the whole time I was watching this. They made these fictional characters believable, like they could really exist here. In our world. It made me want to believe in Santa again, this time not because of the gifts but because of his humor and the feeling from his belly. My favorite character was Sandman. I’ve seen him as a villain in cartoon shows, but this Sandman was adorable. Not too happy, not too sad. It didn’t stir emotions as deep from those I got in Pixar’s Up or Finding Nemo or Toy Story 3.

#4 The Perks of Being A Wallflower

The Perks of Being A Wallflower poster from Wikipedia

I haven’t read the book up to now so I watched the story with fresh eyes. Certain parts of it were good in that it made me feel what I’m supposed to feel especially those scenes with Patrick and Sam in it. But I find it lacking in many ways, particularly Logan’s portrayal of a teenager who feels alone despite being in a crowd. It was just sad, period, but not painfully sad. But it will definitely take a long while before I get over Ezra or Patrick or both. Maybe never unless I find another character like him.

#2.5 Rurouni Kenshin

Rurouni Kenshin poster from Wikipedia

There’s something about Asian movies that makes the feelings that it evokes in me more intense and not as easily fleeting. In the movie adaptation of the manga Rurouni Kenshin, it wasn’t simply because of the blood and blades. I could never say that I can relate to it because its story was of old Japan but it felt like for a while I was transported to that era. The entire movie, the characters were all beautifully made. It was just incredible.

#2.5 Wreck-it Ralph

Wreck-It Ralph poster from Wikipedia

It doesn’t make me guilty to rank this movie at the same place with Rurouni Kenshin because I’m a sucker for animated films and in terms of feels, this movie definitely hit the spot with the same intensity as Kenshin did though with a completely different vibe. It almost had me in tears in the part where Ralph was saying the Bad-Anon mantra as he was about to plunge into the volcano. It made me laugh and smile that much too, and made me curious about the world behind video games. There were lots of surprises that caught me off guard. It was awesome.

#1 The Hunger Games

The Hunger Games poster from Wikipedia

I watched this movie a few days before my college defense, and I’m glad that I did. It was phenomenal. I could feel that I was part of everything that happened in the story. It almost left me in a depression that I didn’t want to get out of. I loved every part of it. I loved Katniss and Rue and Peeta. I loved the irony of the people and life in the Capitol. As far as feelings are concerned, I thought I lived in their world for days and didn’t wish to be rescued. Up to now, just recalling Rue’s death brings tears that are difficult to hold back.

That’s for 2012. Just had to get this list off my to-do list. :)

(The Rest of) Movie Feels of 2012

Leave a Reply

